JOY OR HAPPINESS?

Is it happiness you want or peace and joy? Which one is better?

20131104-123009.jpg

“Peace I leave with you, My peace I give to you; not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid”-John 14:27

In our society, I notice that the masses are searching for happiness. But don’t even people who do drugs get their dosage of happiness that will fade when their high comes down?

Through coming to know Christ and building a relationship with Him, I’ve come to find that this smile painted on my face is not one of happiness, but one of joy and peace. When I think of what makes me happiest, my current circumstance is NOT it. As long as I prioritize and make sure that my relationship with Jesus Christ is in constant growth mode, this simple isn’t fading.

I’m not saying that we shouldn’t search for happiness. I’m much happier when I’m around positive people than I am around grouches, and I intend on staying surrounded by those who bring out the happiness in me, but I am saying that we should consider happiness to be a temporary feeling, one that can change at the drop of a hat, and joy to be permanent.

 

Submit a comment

