Crossfit year #2: The year that nothing changed

This was the year that no progress was made. Because the drastic changes were replaced with microscopic ones. So naturally if I couldn’t see them, they must not exist.

“The truth is, what you do matters. What you do today matters. What you do every day matters. Successful people just do the things that seem to make no difference in the act of doing them and they do them over and over and over until the compound effect kicks in.”-The Slight Edge

It’s been drilled into my head that success isn’t an event, but a process. And while I’ve shaken my head up and down saying I understand, I really haven’t. I’ve met other people who have become successful overnight right infront of my eyes, and it sure did resemble what I would refer to as an “event”.


Year one of Crossfit was the year of walking in, not knowing what the heck is going on, making huge strides, shaving off body fat, and watching the entire dynamics of my body change.

Year two of Crossfit was the year of showing up, maybe PR’ing every 6 months if I was lucky, having several health/medical challenges that kept taking me out of my consistent routine and setting me back two steps, not noticing any physical changes in my physique, and struggling to keep my nutrition on track.


What was looking like an uphill climb the first year, started to look like a downwards spiral in two.

But was it?

 

Thankfully I know without a shadow of a doubt that the weakest ink will always be stronger than the strongest memory. And that’s why for the past 365 days I recorded EVERYTHING. I mean EVERYTHING. Every single WOD. My scores. Top 3 female scores at the gym. Notes to self on how I was feeling that day. PR’s. Setbacks. Body measurements. Retesting of body fat. Emotional status. etc.

So turns out, success is in fact found in the nitty-gritty, insignificant details. Which means success is in fact a process, and not an event.

“Any time you see what looks like a breakthrough, it is always the end result of a long series of little things, done consistently over time.”-The Slight Edge

So two years deep and going into my third year, I have this one curiosity. A curiosity that will take me through year three and into year four. If we’ve only succeeded to a certain level in anything in life, how can we possibly know what the next level looks like? We can’t. Is it the point at which drastic changes stop and microscopic changes start that make the 98% of the population throw in the towel?  If so, I have to keep going. I have to find out.

Submit a comment

